Seinfeld Scholar Award Program

Each year Syracuse University honors the talents of outstanding faculty and students through a program made possible by a generous gift from Judith Greenberg Seinfeld, distinguished alumna of Syracuse University and member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Ms. Seinfeld’s endowment honors Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth A. Shaw and Mary Ann Shaw in recognition of their years of devoted service to the University.

Excellence, Creativity, Innovation
The Seinfeld Scholar Program recognizes those who have (i) “made an outstanding contribution to the beauty of the world, who have added to human values, and to ending human abuse” and acknowledges the recipient’s (ii) passion for excellence, creativity, and originality in academic or artistic fields. Additionally, awardees should demonstrate the (iii) “ability to motivate and bring out the best in others.” The designation as the Seinfeld Scholar is not intended as a prize for past accomplishments so much as encouragement and stimulation for future contributions to society.

Faculty & Student Awards
Both faculty and students honored as Seinfeld Scholars neither apply for the recognition nor are expected to report on the use of the funds. The program proceeds through a three year cycle. In the first and second years, a faculty member receives a grant of $10,000. In the third year, the program recognizes two graduating seniors with a cash grant of $5,000. There are no restrictions on recipients’ use of the funds.

Selection Process
A selection committee of distinguished members of the University faculty review faculty nominations. A selection committee of faculty and previous Seinfeld Scholars review student nominations and recommend graduating seniors for the honor. In each case, the Chancellor makes the final selection.

The deadline for 2019-2020 Seinfeld Scholar Award nominations is January 24, 2020.

Nomination guidelines [PDF]

Seinfeld Scholars