Seinfeld Scholar Award Program

Each year Syracuse University honors the talents of outstanding faculty and students through a program made possible by a generous gift from Judith Greenberg Seinfeld, distinguished alumna of Syracuse University and member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Ms. Seinfeld’s endowment honors Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth A. Shaw and Mary Ann Shaw, in recognition of their years of devoted service to the University.

Excellence, Creativity, Innovation
The Seinfeld Scholar Award Program recognizes passion for excellence, creativity, and originality in academic or artistic fields and seeks to encourage continued outstanding performance. The designation as a Seinfeld Scholar is not intended as a prize for past accomplishments so much as encouragement and stimulation for future contributions to society. Preference is given to faculty members who received their terminal degrees within the past twelve years. The school or college academic deans are asked to submit nominations for this award. Students completing their undergraduate degrees during the calendar year (May, August, or December) can be nominated for the Seinfeld Scholar.

Faculty & Student Awards
Both faculty and students honored as Seinfeld Scholars neither apply for the recognition nor are expected to report on the use of the funds. The program proceeds through a three year cycle. In the first and second years, a faculty member receives a grant of $10,000. In the third year, the program recognizes two graduating seniors with cash grants of $5,000. There are no restrictions on recipients’ use of the funds.

Selection Process
A selection committee of distinguished members of the University faculty review faculty nominations. A selection committee of faculty and previous Seinfeld Scholars review student nominations and recommend graduating seniors for the honor. In each case, the Chancellor makes the final selection.

Nomination guidelines

Seinfeld Scholars
Arthur C. Brooks (2005), professor and Bantle Chair of Public Administration
Julie Hasenwinkel (2006), assistant professor of bioengineering
Julia Czerniak (2008,) associate professor of architecture
Kendall Phillips (2009), associate professor of communication & rhetorical studies
Roger Hallas (2010), associate professor of English
Nina Kohn (2011), associate professor in the College of Law
Robert Wysocki (2013), assistant professor of sculpture
Sydney Hutchinson (2016), associate professor of music history and cultures
William Coplin (2017), professor and director of the Public Affairs Program
Marcelle Haddix (2017), associate professor and chair of reading and language arts