Judith Seinfeld Distinguished Fellows Program

Each year Syracuse University honors the talents of outstanding faculty and students through a program made possible by a generous gift from Judith Greenberg Seinfeld, distinguished alumna of Syracuse University and member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Ms. Seinfeld’s endowment honors Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth A. Shaw and Mary Ann Shaw, in recognition of their years of devoted service to the University.

Excellence, Creativity, Innovation

The Judith Seinfeld Distinguished Fellows’ Program recognizes passion for excellence, creativity, and originality in academic or artistic fields and seeks to encourage continued outstanding performance. The designation as the Judith Seinfeld Distinguished Fellow is not intended as a prize for past accomplishments so much as encouragement and stimulation for future contributions to society. Preference is given to faculty members who received their terminal degrees within the past twelve years. The school or college academic deans are asked to submit nominations for this award. Students completing their undergraduate degrees during the academic year (December, May or August) can be nominated for the Seinfeld student fellowship.

Faculty & Student Awards

Both faculty and students honored as Judith Seinfeld Distinguished Fellows neither apply for the recognition nor are expected to report on the use of the funds. The program proceeds through a three year cycle with a faculty member receiving a grant of $10,000 in two consecutive years. In the following year the program recognizes two graduating seniors with a cash grant of $5,000. There are no restrictions on recipients’ use of the funds.

Selection Process

A selection committee of distinguished members of the University faculty review faculty nominations. A selection committee of faculty and previous Seinfeld Fellows review student nominations and recommend graduating seniors for the honor. In each case, the Chancellor makes the final selection.

Judith Seinfeld Distinguished Faculty Fellows
Arthur C. Brooks (2005), professor and Bantle Chair of Public Administration
Julie Hasenwinkel (2006), assistant professor of Bioengineering
Julia Czerniak (2008,) associate professor of Architecture
Kendall Phillips (2009), associate professor of Communication & Rhetorical Studies
Roger Hallas (2010), associate professor of English
Nina Kohn (2011), associate professor in the College of Law
Robert Wysocki (2013), assistant professor of sculpture